Trent Boult Dismantles West Indies With Seven Wicket Haul

CHRISTCHURCH, NEW ZEALAND - DECEMBER 23: Trent Boult of New Zealand celebrates after dismissing Kyle Hope of the West Indies during the One Day International match between New Zealand and the West Indies at Hagley Oval on December 23, 2017 in Christchurch, New Zealand. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

Trent Boult Earns Career Best Bowling Figures 7/34

Trent Boult tore apart the West Indies as New Zealand won the second ODI by 204 runs at Hagley Oval, Christchurch.

Boult was man of the match as he became only the second Kiwi to grab seven wickets in an ODI, after Tim Southee claimed 7-33 against England at the 2015 World Cup.

The phenomenal haul also propelled the 28-year-old to 100 ODI wickets, joining the elite in New Zealand cricket who share the achievement.

New Zealand came into the second ODI against West Indies under strength but with little concern having won eight of their last nine series at home.

West Indies were forced to leave out star batsman Chris Gayle due to illness, who is now also in doubt for the third ODI on boxing day.

New Zealand laid the platform for victory with the highest sixth wicket stand in 2017, of 130, due to Canterbury pair Henry Nicholls and Todd Astle putting on a classy batting display.
Embed from Getty Images
They came together with the Black Caps sitting at 186-5 when Ross Taylor departed for 57,  showing class and dominance with a mixture of excellent running and powerful hitting.

Nicholls was especially impressive notching his career best ODI score, finishing not out on 83 from 62 balls, which was his third ODI half century. Astle made his mark with 49, falling with four balls left in the innings.

Nicholls chose to pick on Shannon Gabriel, demolishing him for 21 runs during the 48th over. He smashed him for six, four, six in consecutive deliveries.

Worker made it back-to-back half centuries in the series, getting through to 58 before pulling one to fine leg, which would have frustrated him after making another strong start.

Lockie Ferguson Produces Career Best Bowling Figures 3/17 In Four Overs

Coming into the attack as second change, Lockie Ferguson wasted no time in cleaning up the West Indies middle order, dismissing Jason Mohammed with a thundering bouncer, as a result he was caught and bowled.

He then removed Rovman Powell with a unplayable yorker the next ball, giving himself an attempt at a hat-trick, narrowly missing the edge of the bat to go through to the keeper.

Ferguson’s final wicket was captain Jason Holder with another bouncer, that Holder sent straight behind him through to keeper Tom Latham.

Series Sealed – Are New Zealand Ready For England?

In what has been nothing more than a mediocre display of cricket from the West Indies, which New Zealand would deny, it seems like the West Indies are in New Zealand for a holiday.

A brutal schedule is set from January, with five ODI’s against a strong Pakistan side coming from a one-sided series against Sri Lanka, which will test the kiwis.

The Blackcaps’ summer gets tough as they come up against England in five ODI’s & two Test matches. England will have a strong point to prove having been disappointing to date in the current Ashes series as a result of inconsistent and poor performances.

Have New Zealand gained any value from the West Indies tour? Perhaps they viewed it as a chance to rest some of their stalwarts to give other players a turn on the international stage.

Blackcaps Upcoming Schedule

West Indies tour

3rd ODI – Hagley Oval – Tuesday Dec 26

1st T20 – Saxton Oval – Friday Dec 29

2nd T20 – Bay Oval – Monday Jan 1

3rd T20 – Bay Oval – Wednesday Jan 3

Pakistan tour

1st ODI – Basin Reserve – Saturday Jan 6

2nd ODI – Saxton Oval – Tuesday Jan 9

3rd ODI – University of Otago Oval – Saturday Jan 13

4th ODI – Seddon Park – Tuesday Jan 16

5th ODI – Basin Reserve – Friday Jan 19

1st T20 – Westpac Stadium – Monday Jan 22

2nd T20 – Eden Park – Thursday Jan 25

3rd T20 – Bay Oval – Sunday Jan 28

T20 Tri-Series

  1. Black Caps v England – Westpac Stadium, Tuesday Feb 13

2. Black Caps v Australia – Eden Park, Friday Feb 16

3. Black Caps v England – Seddon Park, Sunday Feb 18

T20 Tri-Series final – Eden Park, Wed Feb 21

England tour

1st ODI – Seddon Park – Sunday Feb 25

2nd ODI – Bay Oval – Wed Feb 28

3rd ODI – Westpac Stadium – Saturday March 3

4th ODI – University of Otago Oval – Wednesday March 7

5th ODI – Hagley Oval – Saturday March 10

1st test – Eden Park – Thursday March 22-Monday March 26

2nd test – Hagley Oval – Friday March 30-Tuesday 3 Apr

Main Photo:
Embed from Getty Images