Quinton De Kock, Laura Wolvaardt top SA awards

Quinton De Kock Laura Wolvaardt both won major awards at the CSA Awards 2020
CENTURION, SOUTH AFRICA - DECEMBER 26: South Africa batsman Quinton de Kock hits out during Day One of the First Test match between England and South Africa at SuperSport Park on December 26, 2019 in Pretoria, South Africa. (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)

Quinton De Kock, Laura Wolvaardt Scoop Awards

Quinton De Kock and Laura Wolvaardt won major prizes at the Cricket South Africa awards ceremony for the preceding season of cricket.

De Kock was named the best in three different categories. He won the men’s cricketer of the year award, the test match cricketer of the year award and also the player’s player of the year award.

He had a fabulous season of cricket and especially excelled as captain, with the added responsibility on his batting. De Kock scored 380 runs at an average of 47.50 against England in the 2019/20 test series. Prior to that he also scored a century on the subcontinent against India.

Quinton De Kock, Laura Wolvaardt win big at the South Africa Cricket Awards
CENTURION, SOUTH AFRICA – FEBRUARY 16: Quinton de Kock of South Africa bats during the Third T20 International match between South Africa and England at Supersport Park on February 16, 2020 in Centurion, South Africa. (Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

Quinton De Kock scored 308 runs at the Cricket World Cup 2019 at an average of 38.13. He then followed it up with an excellent series against England – scoring 187 runs at 62.33.

He was even more impressive in the T20 series against India. Here, he scored two half-centuries in two games in Asia at an average of 131 and a strike rate of 147. He then followed it up with 131 runs against England at a blistering strike rate of 214.

Undoubtedly South Africa’s Men’s Cricketer of the year.

Also, Read – Who Is The Best All-Rounder For Proteas Cricket


Not only Quinton De Kock but Laura Wolvaardt also hits the big time

Laura Wolvaardt was named in the ICC’s team of the tournament for the ICC World Twenty 20 2020. She had a fantastic tournament and helped South Africa reach the sem-final, where they narrowly lost to hosts and eventual champions Australia.

She top-scored in the semi-final for South Africa with 41 of 27 balls. Wolvaardt also scored a match-winning half-century against Pakistan in the group stages to help South Africa cruise to the semi-finals, winning all three games on-route.

The ICC World Twenty 20 2020 semi-final Australia vs South Africa at Sydney
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA – MARCH 05: Laura Wolvaardt of South Africa bats during the ICC Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup Semi Final match between Australia and South Africa at Sydney Cricket Ground on March 05, 2020 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Laura Wolvaardt won the Women’s cricketer of the year award. She also won the ODI cricketer of the year award and the players player of the year award. Both she and De Kock won three awards each.

Other Awards Won By SA Cricketers

Lungi Ngidi won the Men’s T20I and ODI cricketer of the year award. Shabnim Ismali won the T20I women’s cricketer of the year award.

David Miller was named the fans player of the year, while Anrich Nortje won the newcomers of the year award.

Quinton De Kock and Laura Wolvaardt both scooped the main honours but others also did really well, highlighting the talent and potential in South African Cricket. Both are young and extremely talented players that have a huge future for South Africa.

Well done to both Quinton De Kock and Laura Wolvaardt.



Main Image Credit:
Embed from Getty Images


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.